Ardoq has four different roles built-in. You can decide the roles and permissions that govern access to individual workspaces and other content across the organization.

Roles Overview

A user in Ardoq can have one of four roles:

  • Contributor - Can only be granted access to Presentations and Surveys, not the main app. Currently, this role is only supported for Active Directory with SAML-based SSO providers being supported soon.

  • Reader - Can read content in the Ardoq app when granted access. Readers cannot be granted write or admin access to anything. When a reader belongs to a group that is given write access, the Reader will still only have read access to the content.

  • Writer - Can be granted read, write, or admin access to workspaces.

  • Admin - Has access to configuring and setting up all Ardoq features. Has access to all workspaces. 👑

Permissions

Below you can see which users with different roles have access to, and further in this article, you can see how to set individual permission per Workspace.

See an overview of permissions below:

Ardoq permissions overview
Ardoq permissions overview

Group Permissions

You can also assign permissions to groups of users. Read more about that functionality here.

Scenario Merge Permissions

In order to merge content into a scenario, you need read permissions on the workspaces you're merging from and write permissions to the scenario. When merging back to the mainline from the scenario you need to have at least write permissions on the workspaces you're merging back to.

Minimum Workspace Permissions

Minimum workspace permissions determine the minimum access the users in your organization will have to each workspace. You can give explicit users more access, but no user will have less access than the minimum. For example, you can allow all users to read and add explicit users that can write.

NB! The only exception is that an Ardoq read user will never have more access than read permissions.

Changing minimum workspace permissions:

From an open Workspace, click the main menu at the top right, choose Workspace and click on "Edit collaborators and permissions".

On the dashboard, click the 3-dot menu of the workspace you’d like to change minimum permissions for, then click on “Permissions”:

Ardoq workspace minimum permissions

From the resulting screen, you can grant permissions to existing Ardoq users (read how to invite new users), to user groups, or change the permissions for the default group: All organization members

Ardoq manage worspace permissions

If you have a user with a Write role, and you want to grant this user access to write for one Workspace and only Read for another, set the minimum permission to "No Permissions." Then search for a user in Find user or group, and grant that user Read-only access. 📖

If you still have questions or need more information, reach out to us via our website or by using the in-app chat.

Did this answer your question?