Ardoq’s Best Practice Modules are meant to give you everything you need to get started with a specific use case. These best practices are designed to build off one another so that you can grow your scope as your adoption increases.

Best Practice Modules include pre-configured:

  • Meta Models
  • Surveys
  • Dashboards
  • Calculated Fields
  • Presentations
  • Excel Import Configurations
  • Reports

Getting there

This feature is only available to admins of an organization, as you will be able to copy or delete large amounts of data.

Click the Best Practices icon in the bar on the left-hand of Ardoq:

The resulting page will show you all available best practice modules:

  1. Navigate between best practices with the tabs on the left
  2. View details and available actions for the select best practice inside the card
  3. View the status for the selected best practice. Possible values are: Loaded, Partially Loaded (some of the data is missing), and Not Loaded.
  4. Take action on the selected best practice. Actions shown will vary depending on the status (as described in #3).

Load a Best Practice

If the best practice you've selected is not loaded, you'll see the following card with no icon at the top:

From here you can just click the "Start wizard" button to initiate the process of copying the data into your org. Make sure to follow the wizard all the way to the end to make sure the data is loaded.

You can also click "More info" to navigate directly to a knowledge base article about the use case.

Manage a Previously-copied Best Practice

After copying a best practice, you should see either a green checkmark icon (indicating it is fully loaded) or a yellow info icon on its card (partially loaded), as seen below:

Reload Missing Data

In this example, the best practice is missing some data (for example, a workspace or report that was part of the module may have been deleted). To recopy any missing pieces, just click the "Reload missing data" button on the card to immediately begin loading missing data.

Clear Sample Data

Finally, you may choose to click the "Clear sample data" button, which results in the following dialog:

This will allow you to remove all data within workspaces added as part of the best practice copying process. This can be a useful tool if you would like to keep the metamodels and structure of the copied workspaces, but would prefer to start adding your own data without sample components and references.

Did this answer your question?