Organizing organization members into Groups

You can group organization members into groups that reflect your company or group’s structure with cascading access permissions.

About groups

Organization owners can give groups admin, read, or write access to the organization resources. A group can give access to  workspaces, surveys, dashboards and scenarios.

Restricted groups

Some groups are restricted and maintained by outside of the group management. This includes the groups' Admin, Writer, Reader and Contributor. These groups are derived from the members permission role in the organization and can be controlled from the Users pane in the Edit organization dialog. A group's permission will not override a members organizational permission role.

Creating a group

Only organization owners can create, remove and maintain the groups. You can create independent groups to manage permissions.

  1. In the bottom left corner of Ardoq, click your profile and choose organization settings and manage permission groups.

2. Click on either new group in the main window or create new in the sidebar.

3. Under "group name", type the name for your new group.

4. Click "Create group"

Adding organization members to a group

People with admin rights in the organization can add organization members to groups. 

  1. In the right side navigator, click the "edit group" icon next to the group you want to edit.

2. Search for a user in the organization and click on the user to be added to the group.

Removing a user from a group

People with admin can remove team members from a team. This may be necessary if a person no longer needs access to a resource the team grants.

  1. In the right side navigator, click the "edit group" icon next to the group you want to manage.
  2. Find the user in the table and click "Remove" under the action column. 

Renaming a group

Organization admins can rename the group name. 

  1. In the right side navigator, click the "edit group" icon next to the group you want to manage.
  2. Type a new name for the group.
  3. Click Save.

Deleting a group

Only organization admins can delete a group. This action is not reversible, so use with caution.

  1. In the right side navigator, click the "edit group" icon next to the group you want to manage.
  2. On the right side of the edit view, click the "delete" button.
  3. This will trigger a confirmation box that has to be accepted.

Did this answer your question?