Whether you are ready to integrate your scenario changes to the mainline or you need to update your scenario with mainline data, the Data merge step in the the Scenarios merge workflow wizard will help you to do just that.

Please note that your scenario metamodel needs to be up-to-date with the mainline metamodel in order to merge data such as components, references, and tags from your scenario to the mainline. Learn how to in the Scenarios Metamodel merge workflow article.

How To Merge Your Scenarios And Mainline Data

Skip right to how to:


1. Open the scenario that contains the changes you wish to incorporate to the mainline or that you need to update with mainline data.

Navigate to the Home page > Scenarios to open your scenario. You can use the search bar on the top right corner of your screen to quickly find the relevant scenario.

2. Start the merge workflow wizard

In your scenario, click on the 'Open merge workflow' button located at the top of the workspaces navigator menu. Select:

  • 'From Mainline to Scenario' to update your scenario with mainline data or

  • 'From Scenario to Mainline' to merge your changes to the mainline

3. Follow the steps in the merge workflow wizard

The Data merge workflow is the second step in the merge workflow. It will take you through a series of steps to merge your scenario changes to mainline or replicate your mainline components, references, and tags in your scenario.

The merge workflow wizard shows you where your scenario and mainline metamodels or data differ so it's easy to spot which parts of your scenario metamodel or data you need to update. 💫

Below, we'll explain what the Data merge workflow steps are. To find out more about the Metamodel merge workflow, head over here.

Components

  • Delete Components

    Select the components that you wish to delete in your scenario or mainline. The unselected components will then continue to exist.

    For example, if you selected 'From Mainline to Scenario' in step 2 above, the components displayed in the wizard are components that are already deleted in the mainline but continue to exist in your scenario. To also remove them from your scenario, select them and click on 'Delete selected components'.

    On the other hand, if you selected 'From Scenario to Mainline', the components displayed in the wizard are components that are already deleted in your scenario and so they will be deleted in the mainline if you select them and proceed with the removal.

    ardoq delete components

  • Create Components

    The Create components step is only available when merging changes from the scenario to the mainline. It is not possible to incorporate new components created in the mainline to your scenario after the scenario has been created. The new mainline component will not show up in the Data merge workflow step when selecting 'From Mainline to Scenario' in the second step above. This is because the merge workflow only shows components that have been explicitly included.

    In other words, use this step to bring the new components created in your scenario to the mainline. Please note that the parent of the new component needs to exist in the mainline so that the new component can be successfully created in the mainline. However, if the parent has been deleted, you will be able to recreate it right on the spot (see screenshot below).

    ardoq create components
  • Update Components

    In this step, you will see the components that have updated field values. Choose the value to keep for each of your components from either the mainline or the scenario.

    The 'Original Value' column shows the value of the element at the time you created your scenario or your last completed merge. The 'Status' column shows if there’s a conflict between the values in the mainline and the scenario. A red dot means there is a conflict because the same value changed in both the mainline and the scenario. A green dot means there is no conflict.

    ardoq update components

References

  • Delete References

    Select the references that you wish to delete in your scenario or mainline. The unselected references will then continue to exist.

    If you selected 'From Mainline to Scenario' in step 2 above, the references displayed in the wizard are references that are already deleted in the mainline but continue to exist in your scenario. To also remove them from your scenario, select them and click on 'Delete selected references'.

    On the other hand, if you selected 'From Scenario to Mainline', the references displayed in the wizard are references that are already deleted in your scenario and so they will be deleted in the mainline if you select them and proceed with the removal.

    ardoq delete references

  • Create references

    • From Mainline to Scenario: Select the mainline references that you wish to create in your scenario.

    • From Scenario to Mainline: Select the scenario references that you wish to create in the mainline.

    Please double-check that both the source and target components the new reference is connecting exist so that the new reference is successfully created. However, if they do not exist or any of their parents is missing, you will be able to recreate it right on the spot (see screenshot below).

    ardoq create references
  • Update References

    In this step, you will see the references that have updated field values. Choose the value to keep for each of your references from either the mainline, the scenario or update it to the original value when you created the scenario or the last complete merge.

    If a field value is changed either in the scenario or the mainline, the updated value is preselected. If the value is changed in both the scenario and the mainline, the status column shows a red dot, and no preselection is made.

    ardoq update references

Tags

  • Delete Tags

    When deleting a tag you will see all the components and references that currently use that tag so it is easier to decide which tags to delete.

    If you selected 'From Mainline to Scenario' in step 2 above, the tags displayed in the wizard are tags that are already deleted in the mainline but continue to exist in your scenario. To also remove them from your scenario, select them and click on 'Delete selected components'.

    On the other hand, if you selected 'From Scenario to Mainline', the tags displayed in the wizard are tags that are already deleted in your scenario and so they will be deleted in the mainline if you select them and proceed with the removal.

    ardoq delete tags
  • Create Tags

    When incorporating a tag from your scenario to your mainline or vice versa, you will also see all the components and references that will be tagged.

    • From Mainline to Scenario: Select the mainline tags that you wish to create in your scenario.

    • From Scenario to Mainline: Select the scenario tags that you wish to create in the mainline.

    ardoq create tags
  • Update Tags

    In this step, you can only update the name and description of your tags as these are currently the only two available properties in tags. Please follow the steps in the wizard to successfully change the name and description of your tags.

  • Merge Tags

    The final step of the Tag merge workflow shows a table that shows where the tag applied originally, either when creating the scenario or at the last merge, as well as where the tag applies in the mainline and the scenario. The checkboxes can be used to select whether the tag should apply or not.

    ardoq merge tags

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out via our in-app chat or at support@ardoq.com.

Did this answer your question?