Organizing users into Groups
You can group organization members into groups that reflect your company or group’s structure with cascading access permissions.
All users can be added to groups regardless of their user role.
Table of contents:
Admin users can organize users into groups and grant them the Administrator, Writing or Read-only permission on any type of content such as workspaces, surveys, dashboards, reports, viewpoints and scenarios.
Contributors cannot access core Ardoq. Thus, they can only access surveys, presentations and viewpoints. When a Contributor user is part of a group that has been assigned a permission on a type of content a Contributor user is not allowed to access (e.g. a workspace), they won't gain access to that content.
For example, in the .GIF below, Tatiana is a Contributor user who has been added to the Finance group. Assigning the Finance group any kind of permission on the "Metamodel" workspace won't allow Tatiana to access the "Metamodel" workspace because Contributors can't access workspaces. They can only access surveys, presentations, and viewpoints.
Some groups are restricted and maintained by outside of the group management. This includes the groups' Admin, Writer, Reader and Contributor. These groups are derived from the members permission role in the organization and can be controlled from the Users pane in the Edit organization dialog. A group's permission will not override a members organizational permission role.
Creating a group
Only admin users can create, remove and maintain the groups. You can create independent groups to manage permissions.
In the bottom left corner of Ardoq, click your profile and choose Organization settings and Manage permission groups.
2. Click on either New group in the main window or Create new in the sidebar.
3. Under "group name", type the name for your new group.
4. Click "Create group"
Adding Users to a Group
People with admin rights in the organization can add organization members to groups.
In the right side navigator, click the "Edit group" icon next to the group you want to edit.
2. Search for a user in the organization and click on the user to be added to the group.
Removing a User From a Group
Admin users can remove team members from a group. This may be necessary if a person no longer needs access to a resource the group grants.
In the right side navigator, click the "Edit group" icon next to the group you want to manage.
Find the user in the table and click "Remove" under the action column.
Deleting a Group
Only admin users can delete a group. This action is not reversible, so use with caution.
In the right side navigator, click the "edit group" icon next to the group you want to manage.
On the right side of the edit view, click the "delete" button.
This will trigger a confirmation box that has to be accepted.